Cheers: Communion as drinks with Jesus

communion glasses

Last Sunday, holding the little communion shot glass with Ribena in it, I had a kind of epiphany, a realization of what it means to commemorate the Passion of Christ. I imagined Jesus and his disciples at the table having a feed, and then the Messiah stands as if to toast:

“Friends, charge your glasses”, Jesus vigorously pronounced, looking around at the people who had followed him for the past three years. The ever attentive John tries to quiet down the other disciples who are in the middle of a rowdy debate over who should have the last chicken thigh.

“My friends, charge your glasses. Soon I’m going to suffer and die…” the mood suddenly becomes serious. Levi nudges Philip to listen.

“Friends, everything that you have witnessed can be summed up into the most excellent way of life: love others as I have loved you, for by your love, others will know that you’re my disciples…” a tear kissed his cheek, pausing the moment in what can only be described as holy.

“Friends, as you eat this bread…remember this moment with me…friends, as you drink this wine…remember THIS moment with me…”

“To this moment!” exclaimed Peter.

“To love, peace, and brotherhood…cheers!” added Jesus, as everyone stood with their glasses charged. So the night continued with table fellowship and drinks with Jesus.

So as I took communion last Sunday, I turned to my wife and said, “if you think about it, we’re kind of having drinks with Jesus, it’s like saying cheers to what he did and what he is doing.”

So the next time you take communion (if it’s part of your weekly routine), raise your glass and say cheers to Jesus.

Leave a Reply

